Interview with PWO’s Jason Bane

THE SHARK: “The Shark of Wrestling” Sean Williams here. I’m talking with the Pro Wrestling Ohio’s own “Most Dominant Man in Wrestling” and the master of the Bane-Line. I’m talking of course about Jason Bane. Jason, I know you’re just coming off of your match with Matt Cross where you lost the world title. I gotta ask you your thoughts heading into that match and now following that match?

JASON BANE: Heading into that match I had an issue with Matt not being dedicated to PWO after leaving and coming back several times. He had recently come back from being eliminated from Tough Enough and strolled in demanding a title shot. I doubted his dedication and didn’t believe he deserved a shot after having one match back at Wrestlelution 4. I realize after the match that I underestimated him and while I still didn’t think he deserved a shot I ended up playing into his plan by trying to match speed with him. I should have grounded him early which would have limited his aireal assault. I won’t make that mistake again!

THE SHARK: I know that you’re looking to get that belt back whether it be from Matt Cross or whoever is holding the belt at the time. Should you face Matt Cross again for the belt, what would your mindset be heading into that match as opposed to the last encounter?

JASON BANE: Like I said, I would make him play my game and keep the match much more mat based wrestling where my strength and size give me the advantage.

THE SHARK: Many wrestlers are asked this question, what got you into the wrestling business and who was a wrestler or wrestlers that inspired you and helped you become the powerhouse that you are today?

JASON BANE: I was at a WWE show around 1997-98 and saw fliers for Cleveland All-Pro Wrestling and went to a couple shows. I contacted the owner James Haase “J.T. Lightning” and asked about training and eventually started training in February of 98. J.T. who passed away back in August trained me to be more of an oldschool worker calling my matches in the ring which has become a lost art. I was a big fan of Flair and the Horseman, Harley Race, Austin, The Road Warriors, Bruiser Brody and the last guy I was really into was Brock Lesnar as far as WWE goes. I try to be similar to Lesnar because he had the total package of size and quickness.

THE SHARK: When you defeated Marion Fontaine to win the very title you’re holding, what was that feeling like to at long last hold that belt after all you’ve been through and the 3 ½ years it took to win that belt?

JASON BANE: It felt incredible, I knew that if I was given a one on one shot at whoever was the champion I could come out on top. To go through all the interference and a hit put on my head was a test of my will to succeed and I smashed through every wall put in my way.

THE SHARK: In wrestling today, for most companies especially the more mainstream, they believe that in terms of wrestlers “The bigger, the better.” Do you find yourself challenged in making your style as the powerhouse that you are, stand apart from most other wrestlers in that category?

JASON BANE: I find it just the opposite in independent wrestling I’m usually twice the size of most of the wrestlers. I think today’s business is more oriented towards smaller acrobatic high flyer types. My size alone helps me stand apart from most of the guys. In PWO, Brodie Lee is the only guy bigger than me, as far as me standing apart from other big guys I try to be more athletic than the average big guy.

THE SHARK: You were part of a multi-main event at Wrestlelution 4, the first internet PPV for PWO. What is that feeling like to have the main event slot on a moment as historic as that night at Wrestlelution 4?

JASON BANE: It’s pretty cool to be in one of the marquis matches at what is basically PWO’s Wrestlemania. I think there was about 1500 people there so It’s definately a time of year where you can’t help but step up your game.

THE SHARK: Regarding your match, the word “hardcore” would be putting it mildly as it featured things from thumbtacks to broken glass. Would you say that it’s easier or harder to do the hardcore matches as opposed to a normal wrestling match?

JASON BANE: Easier because there is a lot more freedom to pretty much do what you want. I personally prefer a wrestling match over hardcore because a traditional wrestling match is way more challenging to get over with a crowd.

THE SHARK: Not only was the match No DQ but it was part of the main event on the card for that PPV. Was there a feeling of pressure for both yourself and Krimson to make sure that this match delivered on every level, especially in terms of the violence scale of the match?

JASON BANE: No real pressure we knew between the two of us we were willing to go balls out and just make it as wild as possible.It’s very easy to just fight it out and go with the flow.

THE SHARK: I asked Aaron Draven this question and with you being a former champion, I felt that it was right to ask you as well. How much of the other companies such as TNA or WWE do you watch if at all and what do you see as the defining difference between the more mainstream pro wrestling vs professional wrestling on the independent circuit?

JASON BANE: I haven’t watched WWE in months and TNA I honestly couldn’t tell you when I watched it last. I think the main difference is in indy wrestling you are free to be who you want to be and say what you want to say. WWE and TNA seem to be far too concerned with scripting every single aspect of it to the point that all the individual creativity has been sucked out. The legends in this business didn’t need everything pre-planned for them, give them a finish and they created the rest on the fly. Pro Wrestling is supposed to be an improvisational art form. How can you work the crowd if there’s no room to improvise if your pre-planned match isn’t working ????

THE SHARK: There are some moves that people consider to be “simple” or “routine” to wrestling such as a backdrop or splash to the corner. Yet, you add the power to the clothesline and make it your own as the “Bane-Line.” In your opinion, what is the secret to take moves like you do with the Bane-Line and delivering with such precision and execution to make the move look so powerful?

JASON BANE: Throwing as much of my body into it as possible and making enough contact to make it look as brutal as possible..

THE SHARK: You’ve fought Raven, you fought Marion Fontaine to become the champ and you fought Krimson to retain the title. Every wrestler has one or two that come to mind, so I want to ask you who is somebody currently in wrestling that you yourself would love to have a match against?

JASON BANE: Randy Orton and Triple H probably. They are the most similar to the oldschool way of working.

THE SHARK: Is there anything you’d like to say to your fans on what they can expect in the future from Jason Bane and what we can expect to see out of you heading into Brawl in the Hall?

JASON BANE: In the future you can expect Jason Bane to be much more vicious. I will show everyone why there are “None More Brutal” than Jason Bane !!

Big thank you to Jason Bane for this interview and look forward to seeing him and the rest of the PWO roster in action at “Brawl in the Hall”.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

