Nature of the Beast

I’m nearing 2 years that I’ve been doing this for whether it’s on PW Journal, my own blog or on the podcast show.  I’ve come to learn something when it comes to the nature of the beast.  A few days ago, I had a little bit of a spat between myself and former ECW alum/WWE wrestler and announcer/current TNA announcer in Taz.  I had said on my Twitter account that Taz’s commentary since his heel turn and joining Aces & Eights has become painful, even Michael Cole painful. Needless to say, Taz didn’t take too kindly to it as he replied with telling me to mute the TV, in follow him (guessing he meant unfollow) and to go jump in a lake.

Now, am I writing this as an attempt to attack back? No.  Reason why?  When you become an editorialist on a blog and/or podcast, you accept certain outcomes will more likely happen.  One is that you’ll have a greater chance at people disagreeing with you than agreeing with you. Hell, you’ll probably piss off a lot of them too.  The other outcome you accept is that you’ll likely make more enemies along the way than you will friends. You accept that when writing your opinions or broadcasting them is what you want to do.

My track record as it stands in the 2 years I’ve been doing this for:  I’ve traded words with other writers.  Hell, one of them still thinks I’m an asshole for calling him out on his journalistic credibility and sounding off on another writer. I’ve pissed off a promoter for him getting me an interview and failing to mention his indy promotion and pretty sure I pissed off that wrestler I interviewed for the same reason. I’ve sounded off on another specific topic and pissed off a podcaster whose show I used to call in on, so I’m pretty sure he thinks I’m a dick.  And now, you can add pissing off a retired wrestler/current announcer to that list.

So, am I writing this as an admission of guilt or regret? No. Am I writing this as an apology? No.  Am I writing this as an admission of pride and saying I’m proud of it? Of course not.  I’m simply saying that I’ve come to understand and accept the nature of the beast as described.  Because I also remember that when I said I was going to do my blog and what I do on my podcast, I was going to do it my way and wouldn’t settle for anything less.  I speak as a wrestling fan because that’s simply what I am is a wrestling fan.  I don’t do what I do on here or on my show as anything less than that.  So the whole point in what I’m saying here and this goes to others like myself, B-Dub Brian Waters, Dwayne Allen, Riley Ross, Mayer Nation and others.  We are wrestling fans. This is who we are and this is what we do when we talk wrestling.

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

